top of page
  • Writer's pictureCameron Calvert

Yorkshire Youth in the US: Ben's Story

Updated: Oct 29, 2020


Ben Carrington in action for Shawnee State University.

Ben Carrington is a 19 year old from the outskirts of Sheffield who is chasing the dream of becoming a professional footballer.

He is one of hundreds of youngster that apply to gain a scholarship at an American university with the intention of studying, but most importantly, playing football.

Ben has been mad about football since he was very young and when he's not in the States, he's often at Elland Road supporting Leeds United.

Years of hard work as a young lad have led Ben to this once in a lifetime opportunity and he has certainly grasped it with both hands.

Ben first found about the opportunity through United Sports USA.

Found in 2009, United Sports USA helps talented sportsmen and women achieve there dreams by finding them Colleges and Universities in the US, offering them a place as a student-athlete.

Ben setting the example for young aspiring footballers.

Firstly, how did you get the idea of going to America?

"I always wanted to go to the US and I was deciding on where to go for University when I saw an advert from a company called United Sports USA."

What was the process after that? Did you have trials (if so how many)? Did you think you was good enough to make the cut?

"I had two trials, and then multiple games for video footage. I was really nervous as I didn’t know the quality there but I believed in myself and once we started I knew I could compete very well."

Was it a shock when you were offered a place?

"Yes I was, I never wanted to expect that I was going to get a place."

Why did you choose Shawnee State University?

"I chose Shawnee because I liked the look of the area and had good conversations with the coaches at the start."

Were you worried about leaving your friends and family?

"Yes I was worried about that, and I’m worried every time I leave."

Shawnee State is one of hundreds of Universities and Colleges across the US that give youngsters this opportunity.

What is it like living in america? Is it easier as there's less pressure?

"I really enjoy living out there. I enjoy being that far away but it’s also tough at the same time. I don’t think it’s less pressure, it could be more pressure to be focusing on grades and be able to play and practice almost everyday."

Do you think this experience has improved you as a footballer and why?

"Yes it has improved me massively. It is a lot harder and a lot more competitive than Sunday league here. We have to train everyday and I’m constantly learning and trying to improve myself and my own game. I’m more focused on becoming a better player then I ever have been."

What advice would you give someone who is thinking about going to America to play football?

"Believe in yourself and go for it!"

68 views0 comments

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact
bottom of page